Macrame Workshop: How to Cradle a Stone/How to extend from a Cradle.

Standard

These workshop *how to’s* are in responce to a tutorial request from the wonderful lady at CosmicNomad after she saw this Fire-Pheonix Bloodstone, Brass and Macrame handpeice for sale on my Etsy shop   —> https://www.etsy.com/listing/100379727/fire-phoenix-macrame-and-bloodstone

Here is a video tutorial I created a couple of weeks ago showing how to cradle/wrap a stone using the Macrame technique I was taught by my friend Gabby in India (on a 3 day train journey so dont expect to get it perfect straight away!).  The link to this part of the process is here:      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6LCq-0j32sc&feature=plcp

* HOW TO EXTEND FROM A CRADLED STONE *

What you’ll need:  A gemstone, Waxed Polyester Thread, Embroidery Needle, Scissors, Lighter

Cut (lots) of pieces of string approx 3/4 arm span long. For the stone I used this time I started off with 29 strings at the 3/4 arm span length.  Cut one more peice of string this time much longer then all the rest, I usually use approx 1 ½ arm spans long….from now on I will call this string the ‘Long’ string, and the other ones the ‘Short’ strings.

Using an embroidery needle start threading the strings piece by piece through the loops in the edges of the cradle.  I tend to use the loop that lies on the edge of the stone, but it doesnt really matter.

To start with thread a string through every other loop (eg. missing one in between). You will soon know if they are too crowded once you start knotting as the macrame will bunch. You can always add the odd string in here or there if it needs more later or take some out, but I find that the spacing shown below seems to work for me.

By the end it should look something like this!

To finish of the threading, thread through the long string at the top of the oval or circle (or wherever you want your spiral of knots to start). Thread the long thread through so that one side is the same length as the other strings and the other is a lot longer. The long half will be where you begin your knots.  In the picture below im showing the placement of my long thread.

At this point, just so as to stop too much tangling, I loosly knot little sections so as to keep them out of the way of the first section I will be knotting. If you think of your stone as a clock, then approximately I leave 1-3 open and 4-12 tied off into little sections.

Tie a spare piece of thread around your leg tightly and secure the stone to your leg by putting it underneath the string, leaving the top section accessible that we will be knotting first. This leaves our hands free to start knotting!

Now- my long string is going to be knotted around by all the smaller strings so that it will in fact spiral around and around the stone, creating the design. I will be knotting in a clockwise direction around the stone using this basic macrame knot- Holding the long thread between my left index finger and thumb, and holding the first short string (picked up from the left of the long string) in the thumb and index finger of my right hand, I am now going to bring the short thread over the top of the long thread, round the back of it and underneath, then over itself creating this loop shown in this little diagram. I do this knot TWICE with each of the small threads in a clockwise direction around the stone.  The picture below shows the knot as does the photo below that:

And this is what the knots should look like when 2 have been done per thread:

So once you’ve got that knot down you are pretty much away! Just keep on knotting twice on each small thread in a clockwise direction around the stone as shown in the photos below.  I found that I had to add another 3 strings in along the way, making my total of strings to be 32.  I did that by simply cutting 3 more short threads and using the needle just threading them into the cradle at any spaces where there was too big a gab between threads.  You can tell if you have too many threads because the row of knots will stary to wave up and down instead of sitting flat, or if you have too few as it will start pushing up like a bowl instead of laying flat.

Once you get to your beginning spot, you just keep on going round in a spiral, and knot onto that first thread you started on.

And just keep on going round and round until you are happy with the width of your wrapped stone! Ive got this far so far with mine, but I will show you another tutorial on how to create shapes onto the wrap by adding and burning off threads when I get to that myself.

So if you fancy you can just finish here (I would recommend finishing at the same spot as where your spiral began) and you will end up with a beautiful oval shaped pendant.  I will quickly explain how you would complete here, but I will go into more detail on finishing off in my next tutorial.    To finish here what you need to do is cut ALL of the threads around 2mm from your last row of knots (I know it feels drastic but all will be well).  Now with a lighter, carefully burn the cut of edges of thread and press down the edges towards the back of the pendant so they arnt obvious from the front (they only need a little heat to melt the wax so dont let the threads catch on fire…if they do just wet your finger and place it over the burning thread).  And you are done!

I will be back soon with more photos and directions on how to continue from here, and some photos of the finishing of process, so until next time! ❤

Bex xx

4 responses »

  1. hello 🙂 they are beautifully set out instructions.
    i have a piece of quartz that i would very much like to wrap to become a pendant, but it is pointy instead of round, i’d like to just macrame around the top of it (like an acorn) would you possibly be able to give a couple of pointers on how to do this? charlotte x

Leave a Reply

