Featured Artist: Michelle Merle Pace

Standard

I stumbled upon this amazing photographer through her Etsy shop: http://www.etsy.com/shop/MerlePaceArts

In her own words: ”I have been taking photographs and making all kinds of art since I was a little girl. Photography is magic to me and my love of Fairy Tales, Folklore, History as well as the Pre-Raphaelite Arts are the big themes through out my work.”

I fell in love with her work straight away through this amazing photograph depicting a Selkie woman-

Image

I love absolutely everything about it, the dark ocean palette, the mystical and slightly dark feel.  It portrays everything about the folklore I grew up with that fuels my creative energy and is the inspiration behind my shop http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheSelkieFolk .

Here are some more of her original photographs that I absolutely adore.  This one in particular really stood out to me and reminds me of a drawing I love by one of my favourite artists Brian Froud.

ImageImage

Just beaaaautiful and so inspiring!
ImageImage

I grew up with the Pre-Raphaelite paintings of Waterhouse on the folky walls of mine and many of my friends houses, damsels and maidens swooning around my teenage self.  Its beautiful to see a modern take on these beautiful works of art, real life goddesses creating amazing magical art.

ImageImage

And here are a couple of Pre-Raphaelite paintings I grew up with and love dearly just to show the connection. 

ImageImage

Such an amazing photographer and I’m so happy I happened to stumble upon her amazing creations! Here is another amazing photograph by Michelle Merle Pace just to finish of this Featured Artist post.  It is titled ‘Water Nymph’ ❤

Image

Once again, check out her amazing photography and purchase yourself a print at http://www.etsy.com/shop/MerlePaceArts

 

I hope you are suitably inspired! I know I am!! ❤

Bex

 

2 responses »

  1. Oh Wow! Thank you so much for this beautiful post about my photography! I am overwhelmed and so happy that you like my work. I love that it reminds you of art that you have loved for so long~very special. I love that painting by Brian Froud! I have never seen it and it does remind me of that Photograph. I have to add that all of my photographs are Self-Portrait Photographs~I run to beat a 10 second timer! It is a crazy thing to do because I never know what I will catch~there is magic in that. Thank you again~can’t wait to check out your shop~I LOVE the Regency Jacket you made for your Jane Austen styled Bride.

    Best,
    merle

Leave a Reply

